Karen Schultz receiving the Gold Medal on behalf of Dr. Lois Smedick

The Assumption University Christian Culture Gold Medal was presented this year to the late Dr. Lois Smedick. Dr. Smedick was an outstanding Christian leader, a true Renaissance woman in terms of her many interests and accomplishments, and a dedicated person of humble volunteer service. Dr. Smedick received the Rev. Carlisle LeBel, CSB, award from Assumption in 2007 and served as Chair of its Board of Governors from 2008 to 2012.

Founded by Father Stan Murphy, CSB, in 1941, the Christian Culture Gold Medal is awarded annually to “some outstanding lay exponent of Christian ideals.” Past recipients include Sigrid Undset, Jacques Maritain, Paul Martin, Sr., Dorothy Day, Marshal McLuhan, Barbara Ward, Jean Chrétien, Sandra Schneiders, Jean Vanier, Martin Sheen, Paul Martin, Jr., Dr. Alan Wildeman, and George McMahon, Sr.

Presentation of the Gold Medal took place during the Celebration of Lois Smedick hosted by the University of Windsor on Thursday November 2, 2017 at the Heritage Auditorium, Assumption Hall, University of Windsor.